The Amazing Spiderman (2012)

mp’s rating: 6.8 /10

It’s so hard to rate this movie and to decide if whether I like it or not. Why? Because with all due respect, this film is a ‘remake’.

Like most teenagers, Peter is trying to figure out who he is and how he got to be the person he is today. Peter is also finding his way with his first high school crush, Gwen Stacy, and together, they struggle with love, commitment, and secrets. As Peter discovers a mysterious briefcase that belonged to his father, he begins a quest to understand his parents’ disappearance – leading him directly to Oscorp and the lab of Dr Curt Connors, his father’s former partner. As Spider-Man is set on a collision course with Connors’ alter-ego, The Lizard, Peter will make life-altering choices to use his powers and shape his destiny to become a hero.

Written by Nicky Mitchell

So you see, I have a problem here. I love Tobey Maguire’s representation of Spiderman in its first trilogy. I feel Kirsten Dunst as Mary Jane is perfect with Peter Parker.

I am already loyal to them.

Of course, I like Emma Stone way more than Kirsten Dunst. Andrew Garfield also plays the role well. But “Spiderman” has just lost its spideyness, for me.

He’s no longer a timid, nerdy boy who fought for survival and love his uncle dearly. He’s a teenager who instantly got the power.

I have always loved Spiderman. It’s one of my favourite superheroes, second after The Dark Night. What I like about Spiderman is that he’s human. And he makes mistakes. He’s vulnerable, and yet takes responsibility and becomes strong. He has humble beginning.

He’s not just a hero. He’s more than that.

With this movie, I didn’t really see all those characters. It’s all about Peter Parker who pities himself of having no parents and be teenager-ish. While it’s good movie, somehow it just wrecks my concept of Spiderman.

You see, I’m loyal to whatever that’s original. A nuisance, but true.

The effects and graphics are quite good, and it’s definitely one of those blockbuster movies. So go to the cinema and tell me what you think.

 

2 thoughts on “The Amazing Spiderman (2012)

  1. half note says:

    I am afraid they have Twilightized Spidey. But Emma Stone is such a charm I still found the movie enjoyable hah. Expecting something better from the Gotham boy.

Leave a Reply

