“I hate writing, I love having written, …but the process itself is agony.”

Margaret Simons, one of the most respected journalists in Australia, said this in my journalism class on Tuesday:

In terms of the writing, you know, it’s something that we haven’t tackled very much. But it’s an agony. I hate writing, I love having written, and I love being about to write, but the process itself is agony. And one of the things I tell my students is just because you think it’s crap doesn’t necessarily mean that it is. It’s very important to push on through that, because nobody who does it well find it easy.

And it’s very true.

One thought on ““I hate writing, I love having written, …but the process itself is agony.”

  1. Julia Simpson-Urrutia says:

    It is sheer misery. Especially when I realize I have botched something wrong and have to murder my darlings.

Leave a Reply

