Reality TV show: a bridge between two worlds

I have always thought that those people who are on TV live in a different world than ours. I have always thought reality TV shows as the bridge between these worlds.

I sat down to watch my third reality TV show for the day. After The Biggest Loser, MasterChef Australia, and then The Voice, I couldn’t help but thinking why do we love watching all these shows. We have Australian Got Talent, Britain Got Talent, American Idol, Iron Chef, Fear Factor, Amazing Race, Running Man, The Renovators, The Block, Who Wants to be a Millionaire, and the list just goes on.

I wonder why.

Since I was young, I have fallen in love with movies. If not stopped, I would sit in front of the TV for hours and just laugh and cry along with the characters. I love movies. Always have, always will.

And we have a thing with celebrities. When the infamous YouTube singer David Choi came to Melbourne last Tuesday, I was given the opportunity to watch the concert for free. Well, needless to say, I immediately said yes. Not only that, I took pride in talking to David Choi, asking his signature, getting hugged, and taking a picture together. Why not? He’s a famous artist, and I would never get this one-in-a-million chance ever again.

Covering David Choi’s concert at Melbourne

We treat celebrities as if they are walking in a different world than ours. At least I do. I once met a famous Indonesian singer/songwriter and the only sentence that I could utter was, “I’m a fan.” Although that would be a lie. I was a part-time fan. You know – when you get the hype, you become a fan, but in any other time, you are not. Yet I talked to him as if he was of a different status (which is kind of true, if you ask me).

Sometimes I feel like celebrities are not mere humans. Do they talk about gossips, relationships, and news like us? Can I actually have a normal conversation with them? Or the only thing I’m allowed to say is, “I love you,” “I’m a fan,” “Can I take a picture with you,” or “Can I have your signature”? Plus, are they than human enough to actually want to have a conversation with a commoner like me?

That’s why, I feel like reality TV shows humanise the people who are on TV, making us be able to relate to them. That’s why we love watching it.

In each episode, I feel like I began to know each character, even though I never actually met them. I feel like I am a part of their journeys, and their humble (or not-so-humble) beginnings. I began to realise that there are commoners, like me, who are on TV, and that bridges the gap celebrities made.

Do you like watching reality TV shows? Why? Share your thoughts on the comment section below.

One thought on “Reality TV show: a bridge between two worlds

Leave a Reply

