Weekly Wraps

I have finally got the time to sit down and compiled the interesting articles that I have read this past few weeks. This week’s wrap will be about education, graduation, life, and of course, writing.

1. Dear Class of 2012: Your Degree Is Worthless — Now Get to Work | Huffington Post

Are you a student who’s going to graduate, or an alumnus that’s been reminiscing your college years? This is a good read by Jeff Reeves.

So allow me to throw mine on the pile with my simple, stark and honest message for recent college graduates: That piece of paper you just picked up doesn’t matter. Neither does your major, your GPA or any “honors” you graduated with.

From here on out, the only thing that matters is your work.

Throughout my years as a student, I have worshiped, neglected, pursued, and discarded the so-called ‘piece of paper’. I have been a slave of grades, and I have been a master. Although it’s a gradual thing, I know that one day I would be able to realise fully the meaning of knowledge versus grades.

And soon, I will put those theories into practice.

2. 10 Things Your Commencement Speaker Won’t Tell You | WSJ

Some of your worst days lie ahead. Graduation is a happy day. But my job is to tell you that if you are going to do anything worthwhile, you will face periods of grinding self-doubt and failure. Be prepared to work through them. I’ll spare you my personal details, other than to say that one year after college graduation I had no job, less than $500 in assets, and I was living with an elderly retired couple. The only difference between when I graduated and today is that now no one can afford to retire.

Don’t you just love that?

3. Having A Purpose In Life Could Protect Brain From Mental Decline, Study Suggests | Huffington Post

What’s your purpose in life?

This is a very good question. I’ll get back to you when I know the answer myself. In a very cliched answer, my purpose is to tell others why life’s worth living.

4. Science Reveals Why We Brag So Much | WSJ

Talking about ourselves—whether in a personal conversation or through social media sites like Facebook and Twitter—triggers the same sensation of pleasure in the brain as food or money…

Writing an article about bragging a couple of weeks ago makes me realise how I used to brag. So when a journal article published the scientific reasoning, I couldn’t help but chuckle.

5. When We Stop Believing the Stories We Tell | Jeff Goins Writer

I was telling an amazing story but living a mediocre one. Something had to change.

I have always believed in this statement: if you don’t even believe in your writing, who will? It makes me always believe in mine, no matter how crappy it is. It’s like what my journalism tutor used to say, “We don’t apologise in our writing, we just get better at it.”

6. How to Really Blog: The 43 Things That Bloggers Do | Lifehack

Finally, fellow bloggers, you will love this one.

Question: “What do you do?”

Really Short Answer: “I am a blogger.”

Blank look. After about 2 seconds — question: “What is that?”

Answer: “I am a web writer and I share my thoughts online. I educate people about effective communication …”

Thoughtful pause. Question: “As a hobby …?”

I have always thought that the only people who can actually understand my love for blogging are bloggers. Why? Because everybody else doesn’t know what it’s like to be a blogger. To write with passion with or (mostly) without getting paid. We blog, essentially, because we love to blog. Yet everyone else seems like thinking that bloggers are people who have so much spare time, who have a blog because it’s their hobby.

Bloggers are mostly busy people with full-time jobs, mostly never get paid, mostly prioritise their blog, and mostly trying to steal bits and pieces of time to write. We are, people with passion to write, and to share our lives.

Happy Friday all, hope you all have an awesome weekend ahead :).

Leave a Reply

