You don’t have time? Make time

Written on Wednesday afternoon, while trying to… pick up the bits and pieces.

These past few weeks I have been so busy that I have not been writing properly. Yes, that’s right. Although the posts kept on being published everyday, I have to say that it’s not my freshly written post (excluding yesterday’s). Most are written more than one week ago.

I don’t know what’s better, keep on writing new post everyday or write posts in bulk, and then publish them one by one. Nevertheless, I’m running out of pre-written posts, so it’s time to start writing again.

I’m busy.

And what does being busy mean?

I haven’t had a time to have quality time with myself these past few weeks. If you remember my post about how writers are individualists, you should have known that I’m a big fan of having quality time with myself. I love my date with my book, coffee, and (now) iPad.

Give me back my time, please...

Last week I started my internship in the hospital and it was great. Psychology-wise, it’s the best thing that has ever happened to me. But it confiscated my two days off. A fair game, but the change was so sudden.

And then last Saturday my Mom came to visit my sister and I here in Melbourne for two weeks. Thus begin my holidaying journey to everywhere, in the middle of the sea of unforgiving assignments because, well, Easter break is coming, and that means all assignments are going to be due before the break.

So what am I doing now? Blogging? Not really, just trying to make time with myself.

While writing this, I am traveling from home to uni on tram, waiting for my lectures to start, listening to the lecturers and trying to look enthusiastic, and sipping my coffee in between classes just because I need time to sit down and see the world moving around me.

I feel like skipping my classes, but my first lecture is of an awesome subject, my second lecture is about my upcoming assignments, and my tutorial is about my upcoming assignment as well. So I don’t really have a choice, do I? And all is done while my mom and sis are going to the shopping mall…

I miss the tea time at home where I can just sit down, blog, not worrying about the dishes or assignments or where to take my Mom for brunch tomorrow. I miss the quiet time of just looking towards the blue sky and feel the wind kissing my cheek. What I miss, in a sense, is time.

But if I can’t have time with myself, I’d rather make time.

And that means, picking up bits and pieces from the time I have, and having frequent five-minute break if I can afford it.

What do you do when life gets too busy? Do you embrace the situation, or trying to escape your business? Share your thoughts below.

Leave a Reply

