Weekly Wraps

This week’s inspiration: life, writing, relationship, and everything else in between.

1. 1 MIN READ: If I had my life to live over | Paul Coelho’s Blog

What a fantastic read. When I read the title I thought that I would be reading something like, “I’ll laugh more. Worry less. Do things right the right time.” But you know what I read?

“If I had my life to live over, I would try to make more mistakes.
I would have more actual troubles and fewer imaginary troubles.
Oh, I have had my moments. But if I had it to do over again, I would have more of them – a lot more.
I would go to more circuses.
I would seek out more teachers who inspire relaxation and fun.”

Just. inspiring.

2. The 5 Types Of Men Who Make GREAT Husbands | Hufftington Post

Are you single, taken, or married? Well my fellow Eve’s descendants, you might want to read this. Adam’s descendants, we would actually love to have a husband like this.

The article says that there are five typical characteristics of a terrific husband: provider, supporter, critical thinker, believer, and the free spirit. The first and foremost, of course we would like a husband who can provide! Girls like to know that their future is safe and secure, and even though there will be problems ahead, they know that their husbands will not give up and they will strive together.

But I think I’ll add one more point: a great husband is a great lover. He knows how to make a girl feels secure, and and he can express his love. A lover will never have the word ‘affair’ in his dictionary, will prioritise family over anything else, and will be committed. That’s what we need, a husband who is committed towards the marriage.

3. Need to Find a Job? Stop Looking So Hard | Harvard Business Review

Oh, I desperately need this. With graduation just around the corner (nine months to be exact), I will need every inspiration and support that I can find. The application for graduate positions will be closed in a week’s time, and I need to move fast.

But even when the deadline honks frantically, I’m still not sure of what kind of job that I like to do. I’d love to become a journalist or a writer, for sure, but I’m just not sure if anyone would want to hire such a newbie like me.

And this is such a great reassurance.

“Don’t waste this time. The job search. The client search. Do it. But do it in a way that excites you. That teaches you new things. That introduces you to new people who see you at your natural, most excited, most powerful best. Use and develop your strengths. The things at which you excel. The things you love.

It’s well known that people have a harder time getting pregnant when they’re stressed about getting pregnant. And it’s unlikely you’ll get into a relationship if all you think about is getting into a relationship. The same holds true for finding a job (or, for a company, finding new business). However hard it may be, force yourself to do things you love with other people. Let the work find you.”

4. How to Have the Best Year of Your Life (without Setting a Single Goal) | Zenhabits

Over all pieces of advice, I think this is the one thing that I have never heard from everyone. People always tell me that I need to set goals. I need to dream higher. I need to keep myself organised and make a 100,000-word thesis, a step-to-step guide on how to I achieve my goals.

But no one ever tells me to forget making goals.

I am no planner, I have no plan to ‘aim for the star’, or ‘land among the moon’. I am goal-less, plan-less human being. I live on a day-to-day basis, and I love being impulsive.

And now, I believe in Jeff Goins’ words:

“There is an alternative to setting goals that will bring you closer to the life you want. Focus on a few practices you can enjoy doing on a regular basis. The trick here is consistency.”

Thank you for writing that!

5. 12 Life Lessons Learned in 12 Years on the Road | Marc and Angel Hack Life

This is a very great reflection on life (it’s like the author has lived a full life… e.n.v.y.). Anyway, we know most of the stuffs written there, but sometimes we just need some other people to say them straight to our face for them to make sense. My personal favourite is this one:

You’re not perfect, but you’re great at being you. – You might not be the most beautiful, the strongest, or the most talented person in the world, but that’s okay.  Don’t pretend to be someone you’re not.  You’re great at being you.  You might not be proud of all the things you’ve done in the past, but that’s okay too.  The past is not today.  Be proud of who you are, how you’ve grown, and what you’ve learned along the way.

Isn’t it just beautiful?

6. Why You Should Write First for Yourself | Writetodone

And this is the second piece of advice that I love. Every blogging tip that I have encountered on the net says, “Less you. People don’t care about you. They don’t care who you are. Don’t talk about yourself. It’s boring. You write for your readers.”

So what have I done so far? I keep on writing about me.

Jeff Goins writes, “You need to write first for yourself and second for your audience.” Oh how I love that sentence.

“There is a story that only you can tell. It is your story alone. And you begin to tap into by being yourself, by writing first for you. The paradox of all this, of course, is that the truer you are to your voice and message, the more you will attract a true tribe of followers committed to you.”

Thank you, once again, for letting me know that I can write for myself.

7. What will your legacy be? | MamaMia

Do you live in Australia? You must have heard of Jim Stynes. Do you live in Australia but haven’t heard of Jim Stynes? It’s time for you to know.

His death was on every major newspaper and TV channel. He has inspired people with his battle with cancer, and he has become hope towards others who need one. It’s a bit ironic that I never heard of him before he died, but with him dying I feel like I have known one more great person in life.

Jim Stynes left a great legacy. What kind of legacy you’d like to leave behind?

One thought on “Weekly Wraps

Leave a Reply

