The world has migrated to typewriters, but I’m still craving for a pen

When people use pen for writing, I use pen for thinking. Here’s how.

Last week I went to try a famous cafe in Brunswick, bringing my brand new Walt Disney’s memoir book, my notebook, my iPad, my sunglasses, and my iPhone. But I forgot to bring a pen.

As soon as I sat down and ordered my latte, I opened my bag to take search for a pen. To my horror, I changed my bag yesterday night, and completely forgot to chuck in one.

But I already have an iPad, so why do I need a pen?

Ironically, I don’t use a pen for writing, I use a pen for thinking.

How?

By turning it.

I learned the art of turning pen by the time I was 8. My older sister came home with a new skill she has gotten from the boys at her school, and I envied her. I sat on my bed, frantically trying to copy her skills of turning pen. After three hours of struggle and countless times of dropping my pen, I gained success.

Soon, I was learning new tricks, and now I have mastered quite a few for them. When I was younger I used to brag about my pen turning skill, and to teach my friends who were keen to learn. Then it became a habit.

In high school, I bet everyone knew that I love turning pen. Teachers got angry at my class because the constant sound of pens dropped, as it was very distracting.

When I receive a pamphlet in shopping malls, I would curl it into a small pipe and start turning it.

Until now, I am almost never seen without a pen, even when I am typing on my Mac. I will type, and during those brief moments between finishing one sentence and starting the next, I would grab a pen, turn it, and go back to typing.

So why am I so obsessed with turning pen?

For one, I believe it makes me think better.

I don’t know if it’s just a habit, or a fact that my right hand feels incredibly itchy, craving to hold a pen right now because I have none to be turned in between my typing. But I believe turning a pen makes me think. It helps me formulate my words and gives me enough time to arrange them before I start to write the next sentence.

If people used to say that we need to stop for a while and think before we speak, turning a pen forces me to stop for three seconds and think before I write.

And to type without one is a very big mistake.

Do you have any habit that enables you to write better? Share your story below.

4 thoughts on “The world has migrated to typewriters, but I’m still craving for a pen

  1. Yes! I know exactly what you mean! I can’t spin my pen, but I have a habit of chewing pens I’ve held since secondary school. If I’m thinking about what to write, I’m normally chewing my pen, and I find chewing a laptop keyboard isn’t quite as socially acceptable…. :) Very interesting post. Thanks x

  2. Nicky says:

    When I have to write something, I tend to draw about what I’m writing, or draw how I feel about what I’m writing. At school that was a problem, as I drew myself sleeping instead of making my math exercises.
    Anyway, it’s a talent to be able to spin a pen. There should be an olimpic game about it!

Leave a Reply

