Flying Swords of Dragon Gate 3D (2011)

mp’s rating: 2/5

As a fan of Chinese war movies, I have to say that I am disappointed.

The movie was shot in 3D (which is a bit weird, Avatar in 3D was understandable, but a Chinese action movie in 3D? My first reaction was “it’s ridiculous”), and not being a fan of 3D (in fact I kind of hate it), it was quite a let-down (I would have watched the 2D version if there’s any).

The plot of the movie was vague and frankly, it had no story at all. I didn’t understand about the ‘Dragon Gate’, the legend and myth that it had buried a city of gold, and the flying swords. Even the protagonist (the one who was played by Jet Li) didn’t have any background whatsoever. He just suddenly the master of martial arts who was going against the bad guys. Ehm.

However, the movie is saved by the cinematography. The techniques are quite good (too good, perhaps, it looks very unreal). By the end of the movie, I find myself longing of the next Chinese war movies like 14 Blades, Three Kingdoms, or Warlords. It’s been quite a long time since I last watched a really good Chinese war movie.

If you like Chinese action movies, it was quite good, but if you don’t like a good plotted movie, it might let you down.

One thought on “Flying Swords of Dragon Gate 3D (2011)

  1. I am a fan of Chinese film and culture, too:D.
    I like the action taken in this movie, the plot, though ambiguous, still has some underlying meanings, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

