Why customers are the best marketers

If you read my post on Tuesday about Simon Sinek’s talk on Ted, I AM the perfect example of buying a company’s belief, and not what they are offering. Man, I bought a brand new iPad 3 without even bother to look at the specifications!

Apple will be very rich with people like me. I’m not a tech savvy, I have no idea how to, ehm, what’s the term… for..mat…ting? formatting your computer? Anyway, I’m very bad with technology. I used to have a Toshiba Portege laptop, and I have not even the slightest idea about how to use antivirus. Luckily, my nightmare with Windows ended when I decided to pack my loyalty and migrate to Apple.

Currently, I have an iPod Nano (2nd generation) that is still functioning very well despite its old age (eight years old for technology stuffs are considered old, right?), a MacBook White whose age is around two to three years old, an iPhone whose age is two years old, and a brand new iPad 3 whose age is… four days? Oh, I’m a big Apple fan.

my brand new iPad 3

Why? I have no idea. Maybe because it makes my life so much easier. My MacBook can be turned off and turned on in 10 seconds time. Do you know how long does it take for my Toshiba Portege to load? 10 minutes. No joke. And now with the invention of iTunes, iCloud, FaceTime, Apps, and everything else, life is good.

I have seen writers and journos bring their iPads everywhere, and to be honest I quite envy them. They use Kindle (whatever that is, I still haven’t played much with each of the apps that I have downloaded), they read in public transports, they don’t need to bring their heavy laptop to write; well, an iPad is enough.

And you know what? Zite is the best app ever. Like. the. best. It enables you to make your own personalised magazine and just read what you want to read. You don’t need to browse through every newspaper or magazine to get your daily reading fix, you just need to go to one app and BAM, everything is done for you so that you can scroll through your favourite blogger’s website and CNN news stories at the same time. How cool is that.

Yet I don’t know anything about iPad. I have no idea about its resolution, or in what ways it differs with iPad 2. I don’t know how good it is, and I don’t even know what to do with an iPad (like, iPhone is a mobile phone, iPod is an MP3 player. But, iPad?)

But I trust Apple, and that’s enough for me. I believe Apple has done its best to satisfy its customers’ needs, and yes, I am a very satisfied customer, even though at the moment I’m just using 10 per cent of iPad’s full capability. Apple should be very happy having me on board their train.

I don’t know about you, but, I believe in Simon Sinek’s words. Before you promote your products, first of all you need to sell what you believe. Those who have the same beliefs will follow you. Not for you, though, but for themselves.

And that’s the best marketing ever. Because when you follow someone for yourself, you are willing to promote what you believe in with blood, sweat, and tears.

Figuratively speaking, I just did.

Leave a Reply

