Tonight by FM Static

I have always liked this song. I have no idea when did I get the song, or where, but it’s been there forever in my iTunes. Everytime my iTunes decides to play it, I’ll listen to it once, sing along for the second time, and go to the next song.

I thought it is just another love song with good music.

But today, the song got me.

I was singing along as usual when I suddenly realised the words I was saying, “I remember the time when you said about your Jesus.”

I thought, “oh, is this a religious song?”

I began to listen, listen, and listen again to the lyrics.

And again, I began to wonder when he sang, “I remember the car you were last seen in’?

…Does that mean that his girl has left the world?

I googled the lyrics, and it became more transparent.

This song is made by the composer to commemorate his fiance’s death in September, 11 tragedy.

And I cried.

Guys, if the people that you love are still there now, use the opportunity wisely. For no one knows what will happen tomorrow.

Tonight by FM Static

I remember the times we spent together
on those drives
We had a million questions
all about our lives
and when we got to New York
everything felt right
I wish you were here with me
tonight

I remember the days we spent together
were not enough
and it used to feel like dreamin’
except we always woke up
Never thought not having you
here now would hurt so much

Tonight I’ve fallen and I can’t get up
I need your loving hands to come and pick me up
And every night I miss you
I can just look up
and know the stars are
holdin’ you, holdin’ you, holdin’ you tonight

I remember the time you told me about when you were eight
And all those things you said that night that just couldn’t wait
I remember the car you were last seen in
and the games we would play
All the times we spilled our coffees
and stayed out way too late
I remember the time you told me about your Jesus
and how not to look back even if no one believes us
When it hurt so bad sometimes
not having you here…

I sing,
Tonight I’ve fallen and I can’t get up
I need your loving hands to come and pick me up
And every night I miss you
I can just look up
and know the stars are
holdin’ you, holdin’ you, holdin’ you tonight

I sing,
Tonight I’ve fallen and I can’t get up
I need your loving hands to come and pick me up
And every night I miss you
I can just look up
and know the stars are
holdin’ you, holdin’ you, holdin’ you tonight

2 thoughts on “Tonight by FM Static

  1. Omg I love this song! I will forever cherish FM Static for bringing joy to my world of music. I used to sing this to my ex all the time. Unfortunately, we’re not together anymore and during that time, I couldn’t bring myself to listen to this song. It hurt to even hear the opening guitar melody. So for a while, I hated this song. But I’ve matured since then and just a few days ago, this song came up on shuffle and when I heard the chorus, my eyes started to tear up. That’s a lot coming from a guy! This song took on a whole new meaning for me. I guess it was a sign of having moved on since then and an indication of maturity in my life. Anyway, nice post. You have great taste in music!

  2. thanks! (although I don’t think i have a great taste in music ;p). I love the song so much too :). It’s okay if you have gone through a break-up, what’s important is moving on and live life all over again, fall in love with the right one, and get to sing this song once more ;) all the best!

Leave a Reply

