Tuesday’s Tale: Generosity Day: What is love?

It is a simple question, but it has a million different answers. What is love?

If you have read my post a year back, I have attached a story about what love is to a group of 4 to 8 year-olds (read what does love mean? if you are interested to read more). My favourite answers are:

“Love is what makes you smile when you’re tired.”
– Terri – age 4

“Love is when my mommy makes coffee for my daddy and she takes a sip before giving it to him, to make sure the taste is OK.”
– Danny – age 7

“Love is when you tell a guy you like his shirt, then he wears it everyday.”
– Noelle – age 7

Love is when Mommy gives Daddy the best piece of chicken.”
– Elaine-age 5

Or if you are a quoter, you might want to quote the Bible on the explanation of love.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”
 – 1 Corinthians 13:4

On this world wide day of love, we ought to let the people we love that we love them, right? Valentine’s day has become a business, an excuse for some people not to show their love on the other 364 days. But as a friend of mine used to say, everyday should be a Valentine’s day. ‘Cause we love them every single day.

So enjoy the video, and thumbs up for Jubilee Project for sharing this.

July 31st, 2011.

“Love is when my mommy wakes up every morning to make my favourite breakfast even though it cost her hours of sleep and energy, and she doesn’t even like what I’m eating.

Love is when my daddy cancels lunch with his church friends just because ‘my daughter is home,’ and he wants to make me know that I’m special.

Love is when my big sister does not go to her uni and instead accompany me to go shopping, just because I’m in Singapore and I don’t have too much time.

Love is when my sis allows me to sleep in her bed (even though she likes her privacy) because she knows I like it.

Love is when my sis listens to my stories for hours and hours and not remembering a single thing of it but still pats me on the head and tells me that I’m a good sister.

Love is when my mommy gives the best piece of chicken even though that’s also her favourite part.

Love is when my daddy skips work when I’m around and accompanies me to play bowling, billiard, and having lunch at Pepperlunch.

Love is when my big sister ‘escapes’ from her Professor and goes back to Indo just because my second sis and I are going back.

Love is when Jesus died on the cross just because I am so special in His eyes.

Love is when you are old, been together for 60 years, yet you still see her like it is the first time. Holding her hands tightly, you say, ‘I’d love to spend 60 more years with you, and I don’t even know if it’s enough.’

And more than anything, I believe love is an action.”

– Marcella Purnama – age 19

Leave a Reply

