The Iron Lady (2011)

mp’s rating: 3.5/5

The Iron Lady depicts the story of former UK Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher. What a strong, brave women she is.

Talking from the technical side, I totally love the flashback scenes, and the jumbled scenes at some points, because they show how difficult it is to portray such a complicated, and complex woman. Meryl Streep is a very good actress, and I believe with all my heart that she is Margaret Thatcher. I can see her on her way to get the next Oscar or Academy Awards. Truly mesmerising, impeccable casts.

Yet from the story point itself, it is quite heartbreaking.

I am no fan of politics, and I can assure you that I will never be. Politics are dominated by those who are lured by power – where have I seen a great leader like Abraham Lincoln? No, most leaders are attracted to keeping their seats safe, and to win the heart of people, instead of increasing their states of lives.

Of course, I am biased, and I never really do care about politics. There are great leaders out there, I believe, I just literally don’t really care.

And Margaret Thatcher.

She is such a controversial figure, with one side adores her while the other wants to kill her. And she has paid the price.

Seeing not from a political angle, yet from the commoners’ eyes, Margaret Thatcher has paid the price for a better future. She has lost her children, and husband. It may be true that she lives without real happiness, and others will be the ones who taste the happiness that she is pursuing for.

I don’t want to be Margaret Thatcher. I bet no one (and probably not even herself, if she lived in another life), wants to be by her and abandoning her family. She has a choice, and she chose to be the Prime Minister.

But, there has to be a Margaret Thatcher in the world for it to be better. And for her to take the role, I guess I respect her more because of that. She has taken the path that no one wants. She has her opinions and she is brave enough to voice them out. She has principles and values, and she sticks by it. And she pays the price.

If I have learned one thing about politics from the movie, it will be that there is no black and white in there. Someone will always criticise you and have different opinions about how you see things. I guess people need to learn to respect their leaders, no matter how big their weaknesses are. After all, they all have reasons behind their decisions.

But who am I to say that? I do not know Margaret Thatcher, nor the US President, or even my own. I am just an audience who enjoys good movies.

Watch your thoughts for they become words. Watch your words for they become actions. Watch your actions for they become… habits. Watch your habits, for they become your character. And watch your character, for it becomes your destiny! What we think we become.” – Margaret Thatcher in The Iron Lady

Ps. I love the song – Shall We Dance from the musical The King and I that is played repeatedly in the movie. It might be on my song list for my wedding day.

2 thoughts on “The Iron Lady (2011)

  1. Wow, I can’t believe that Thatcher actually is inspired by a Chinese philosopher (somehow I’m proud of being Chinese). Nevertheless, it’s really true. THank you for sharing this Glenn!

Leave a Reply

