Life updated: a big smile

First week in Melbourne. Even though at first I felt a bit sad of going back to Melbourne, in time I have found my peace. (Okay, what I need are a big fat hardisc, a sofa, and a TV).

So the first good news: I have cleaned my apartment. Well, at least, it’s now presentable. As I said last year, I actually like being a housewife. Cleaning the apartment, cooking, washing the dishes (of course, in the expense that you don’t need to do anything else…), watching TV, waiting for your husband (ooops, big sis) to come home from work, eating dinner with her while chatting… Well, welcome back, routines.

The second good news: I have been called for an interview in Royal Children’s Hospital! (For the psychology intern spot!!!) Oh, I’m so so so so excited. Lord, if you let me get this internship… I will be so happy… But okay, I still have an interview, calm down Marcella, calm down… But it’s THE Royal Children’s Hospital! *squealing!

The third good news: my TV is back, my hardisc is back, and I can watch movies endlessly (literally). Well, this can be a bad news as well, because I am getting fatter and fatter due to spending too much time on sofa. But so far, life’s good.

And I read this article a couple of days back, and boy, it’s so true!

The Trouble With Bright Girls

How do girls and boys develop these different views?  Most likely, it has to do with the kinds of feedback we get from parents and teachers as young children.  Girls, who develop self-control earlier and are better able to follow instructions, are often praised for their “goodness.”  When we do well in school, we are told that we are “so smart,” “so clever, ” or ” such a good student.”  This kind of praise implies that traits like smartness, cleverness, and goodness are qualities you either have or you don’t.

Boys, on the other hand, are a handful.  Just trying to get boys to sit still and pay attention is a real challenge for any parent or teacher.  As a result, boys are given a lot more feedback that emphasizes effort (e.g., “If you would just pay attention you could learn this,” “If you would just try a little harder you could get it right.”)  The net result: when learning something new is truly difficult, girls take it as sign that they aren’t “good” and “smart”, and boys take it as a sign to pay attention and try harder.

How often have you found yourself avoiding challenges and playing it safe, sticking to goals you knew would be easy for you to reach?  Are there things you decided long ago that you could never be good at?  Skills you believed you would never possess?  If the list is a long one, you were probably one of the Bright Girls  – and your belief that you are “stuck” being exactly as you are has done more to determine the course of your life than you probably ever imagined.  Which would be fine, if your abilities were innate and unchangeable.  Only they’re not.

Interesting article, isn’t it?

And this song has been stuck in my head since I watched The Iron Lady. I love the song!

Happy Thursday people! :) Start and end your day with a big smile!

Leave a Reply

