Mission Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011)

mp’s rating: (almost) 4/5

“What? You call yourself a movie geek but haven’t watched MI 4?” was the statement that a friend of mine made when I clearly said that I haven’t been around the cinema lately. What to do, I was overseas.

So yeah, Ghost Protocol it is. Sherlock Holmes, New Year’s Eve, Jet Li’s new movie, and Ides of March, you guys are next.

Tell you the truth, I have never been a fan of Mission Impossible series. Oh yes, Tom Cruise is hot, and his gorgeous smile has melted my heart countless times (remember Jerry Maguire? OH YOU GOT TO REMEMBER JERRY MAGUIRE!) Anyway, action movies are always good for entertainment, but usually, the story is not developed enough (that’s why I love drama, and even war movies).

“Your mission, if you choose to accept it…” is the line that’s repeated countless times throughout the movie. Nevertheless, it’s cool.

Mission Impossible – Ghost Protocol is a good action movie. Two and a half hour long but I still demand the movie to be longer –  just because I feel the plot is not developed enough. However, I got to say it’s one of the best action movies in 2011, of course after X-man – First Class, and Source Code.

The story – which I can’t really divulge because hey, what should I tell you the story of an action movie? It will ruin the surprise. But in summary, IMF has been shut down, America is in a nuclear war against Russia, Ethan Hunt’s wife has been murdered (or has she? Find out later when you watch it), and the government has launched the ghost protocol: IMF never does exist, nor the agents.

Acting is always good, and some actions are breathtaking. Needless to say, MI 4 has surpassed my expectation. It’s true that plot-wise it’s just another action movie, but still, it’s a good one.

So yeah, mission accomplished.

2 thoughts on “Mission Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011)

  1. you know they hired the director of “Ratatouille” to direct this film and from what I’ve experienced, this is mission impossible at its best..oh and they shot the last scene in Vancouver..the bits that said Seattle is actually Vancouver :)

  2. LOL, you got to be proud of your adopted city eh? hahaha, as I said before, I have never been a fan of Mission Impossible series.. but yeah MI4 was quite good indeed (still, I was expecting a deeper plot!) =D

Leave a Reply

