The Help (2011)

mp’s rating: 4/5

My first comment towards this movie is that, “It’s Emma Stone! Emma Stone is starring this movie!” (I’ve seen her a lot lately, from Crazy, Stupid, Love to Easy A…). My sister highly recommended this movie and when I realised that the in-flight entertainment has it, how can I resist the temptation not to watch?

“An aspiring author during the civil rights movement of the 1960’s decides to write a book detailing the African-American maid’s point of view on the white families for which they work, and the hardships they go through on a daily basis.”

So while Skeeter (Emma Watson) was back from college and wanted to become a writer, she decided to look at an issue that has been overlooked and none dared to speak about it. It’s about black and white people. As she tried to approach the African-American maids and get their stories, she also found herself in the process and discovered her own values, even if it went against the society norms.

The acting was good, not really exceptional but not bad. Cinematography was good as well, I guess this movie has passed the standard of making a decent movie, yet the plot is certainly the winner.

The Help is telling us one of the untold dark stories of the past, where people highly hold the racism and only befriend those who will bring benefit to them. It is a long drama movie, with a lot of plot twists here and there. Yet it shows different point of views of people, and yes, it’s inspiring.

I just have one question to this movie. I know that it is adapted from an international bestseller book, but is it a true story? Well, I am too lazy to find out, and if I know that it’s not, I’ll be heartbroken, so just pretend that I believe it is.

Leave a Reply

