Handwriting: a sincere form of language

When reading an article one morning titled Handwriting. Do we still need it? I paused a little and thought about that for a while.

“When I told Mia I wanted to write a post about the death of handwriting she suggested I write it by hand. FUNNY! But not such a good idea given we work on the internet and all.”

I have always fancied those who can write really well. I know I can’t, and my handwriting is just on the borderline of readable (it suits my personality actually: a bit messy, not able to sit down properly for more that 30 minutes…). I wish I have a better handwriting, but I haven’t, and I’m okay with it. It’s still a part of me.

So here what I’m going to do: write the post by hand and see if you guys can read it.

And for those of you who do not want to read handwriting, okay, I’ll save you from reading mine. Here’s the typed version:

The article makes me think though, do we still need handwriting? Yes, I personally think we do.

Why? Not only because it’s a beautiful form of language, but it also conveys a person’s personality way more that just the superficial eye can see. Children aren’t supposed to learn how to type before they learn how to write. Typing is just a more convenient thing to do, but like we never forget who we are or where we come from, we shouldn’t forget how to write.

I always sulk to myself: why don’t I just print all the lecture notes and add some notes by my own while listening to the lecturer, instead of writing all the lecture notes plus some more personal notes? Am I that stingy in not wanting to waste the ink printer or the A4 papers? Maybe yes, but come to think of it, that’s the only portal that enables me to write regularly (with the exception of my personal diary, but I don’t write on my diary every day).

I know the joy of typing. We can delete, backspace, put the paragraph here and there and see if whether it fits the rest of the article, and yada yada yada. Yet for personal matters, I believe something written by hand is the sweetest thing of all.

For me, I’d like to see handwritten love letters instead of seeing them typed. I’d like to see handwritten birthday cards instead of e-mails.

And forgive my psychological self, but I believe the experts would be able to see a glance of a person’s personality by looking at his or her handwriting. Well, it’s the one expertise that I have always wanted to have.

So, what will the future hold? It is likely, even very likely, (with the invention of iPads, iPhone, iEverything) that handwriting will be ancient in the future. It’ll save the poor high school teachers trying to read 90+ students’ awful handwriting, yet it will also make the world miss one important thing: the feelings conveyed in handwriting often are more beautiful than those conveyed in typing. For me, they are more sincere.

4 thoughts on “Handwriting: a sincere form of language

  1. beautiful entry. in this day and age of the email and internet, it is easy to be ‘lazy’ and convenient to type things out but we shouldn’t forget to take time to handwrite cards and letters. i am always so excited to receive snail mail from friends, local or abroad. :D

  2. @avielabley lol yes, I agree that handwritten letters are better! and my handwriting is messy, LOL but thanks =D

    @dean: Hi Dean, I totally feel the same way about you! Like all those birthday wishes via Facebook.. they are all great, but I think you know who appreciates and loves you most by looking at the ones who make extra effort to call/give a birthday card/ or even send a text message…

Leave a Reply

