Yet another child has been called home.

00:32 am. Saturday, 22 October 2011.
I was about to call it a day and go to sleep when one of my old friend said to me on Facebook chat, “Have you heard that ****’s car got hit? Luckily he’s okay, but his friend died.”

Sorry, can you repeat that again?

Yes, it is confirmed. An 18-year-old died of a car accident.

I still do not know what happened, all I know is that two cars were accelerating (I have no idea if they were racing on purpose or not), my friend in one car and the 18-year-old in another. The 18-year-old then hit my friend’s car. It was a disastrous hit, I suppose, as he got internal bleeding in his lungs. He was sent to a hospital in a critical condition, and died no long after.

And again, death has drawn his cards.

I began to reflect back on my exposure of this premature death. The first one was the death of Nikita Putri, Rio Hartanto, and Erfin Januar (read my personal reflection here, the story here, and the inspired poem here). Nikita was two weeks to seventeen, yet she was called home beforehand, in a tragic accident which took the lives of her two dear friends as well.

Then, my second exposure was about the death of Natalia Amanda Setiawan. She should have celebrated her 16th birthday on March 30, 2011. Yet she was called home on the 29th. She was robbed and stabbed by a knife, while waiting for her mother to pick her up from school.

My third exposure was the death of Steven Wijata, a newly graduate doctor who just taken the oath on Saturday morning, yet found dead on Saturday evening. He fell from his 24th floor apartment, and it was a pure accident (read my personal reflection here).

I hope life has a time-out – to consult the coach, ask for directions, and come back to the game prepared. But no, we do not have the luxury.

I haven’t talked to my friend who got into the accident for a long time, and I wonder how he’s doing. Is he shocked? Is he okay? Does he feel stressed? Is he a good friend of the 18-year-old? And suddenly it hit me. The guy who died. Is he a Christian?

The news had not even sink in, while another friend suddenly told me over a Facebook chat, “I just received the news that my friend died over a car accident.”

Hold on a second, is this the accident in Serpong? (Serpong is a suburb in Jakarta, Indonesia, the place where the accident happened).

Yes.

The world is too small, isn’t it?

I do not intend to make this post to be another reflection on the negative emotional aspect of death, but today I want to see death in a different light. Today, I feel like it’s a simple reminder of how fragile our life is.

Do the things you want to do, cause tomorrow may be too late. Live, cause living tomorrow may be too late. Laugh more, smile more, love more often.

We humans tend to live as if we are going to live forever. Live today, as if it’s your last day on earth. Because when your time is up, your time’s up. No more extension.

In the end, we cannot control when will we be called back home. Yet we can control today. We can control how we live. We can prepare.

Death is a journey that we all need to take. Yet how you live today determines where you spend the eternity.

And that’s what matters.

Leave a Reply

