The Eye of The Storm (2011)

mp’s rating: 3/5

In one word? Artsy.

The Eye of the Storm is a very authentic Australian movie. Starring Geoffrey Rush (which since his performance in Pirates series and The King’s Speech, he has become one of my top actors list), the movie is adapted from a Nobel Prize winning novel for Literature in 1973.

Elizabeth Hunter, the mother, a very rich widow, controlled all in her life – her society, her staff, her children. Even in the last moments of her life, she was still the one who decided how would she go to the other side.

The movie has impeccable acting by the actors and actresses. Poetry lines in between scenes reminded me of the movie The Thin Red Line, which I fancy as well. Cinematography is surprisingly good, with beautiful shots around Sydney and Melbourne.

I watched this movie with a guy and I was wondering for the whole two hours: Would he fall asleep? Would he like the movie? After the first 10 minutes I said to myself, “I think I make a mistake by watching this movie,” yet as the conflicts with little twist here and there were brought into the screen, I felt happy with my decision. I definitely never watched this kind of movie before, and it added my movie dictionary collection quite well. To my surprise, he found the movie quite interesting as well, as he tried to decipher the meaning of the story.

Basil (Geoffrey Rush) and Dorothy (Judy Davis) were the children of the ‘queen’, the wealthy widow Elizabeth Hunter. They did not have a good relationship with their mother, in fact it was quite disastrous. In her final times, they were summoned. Was it for the money, for the love, or for the sake of compassion?

As scenes were unfold, the painful childhood that they had were shown – the suffering Dorothy, who needed to see her lover cheated with her mother, and the neglected Basil, whose mother did not support his passion to be an actor. As the children then tried to live their own lives, Elizabeth came to care about her nurses and solicitor more, giving jewelries and some precious possessions to them.

Being what the world call ‘the prodigal children’, the mother sent them away to their old country home, the place where they first spent their childhood. Hard memories sprung into life, and reconciliation slowly began. Yet they had to say goodbye to their mother in their own ways.

In the last moments of Elizabeth, she recalled back her memories of being trapped in a storm – the turning point of her past life. In the aftermath, she tiptoed along the sand, feeling comfortable and at peace – the same attitude that she had in facing her own death.

Being a drama, and a very artsy movie, I think it’s quite a big eye-opener for me. There are plenty of unheard movies out there – the movies that I never know exist. The ones that we used to watch are those Hollywood ones, the ones whose aim is to entertain us. Yet a change in the movie taste quite pleased my  palate.

An interesting movie indeed, yet I do not recommend non-drama lovers to watch.

Leave a Reply

