Crazy, Stupid, Love (2011)

mp’s rating: 4/5

When it comes to weekend, then it’s time to watch another movie at the cinema (oh yes, I’ve been a cinema geek lately). Upon hearing many good reviews, especially from my bis sister, that this chick flick is exceptionally good, okay, let’s buy the tickets and munch some popcorns. (Note: spoilers ahead)

Although you can guess the end of the story already, but I bet you wouldn’t know what lies in between. Steve Carrel and Ryan Goesling made very good performances. It was funny, engaging, and meaningful. Now wouldn’t we love the combination?

As a ‘not-so-cool’ man, Steve Carrel played Cal in this movie. His wife cheated on him, as she said “I don’t know when we stopped being us”. In desperation, Cal met Jacob (Ryan Goesling) in a bar, and Jacob promised to transform him – to rediscover his manhood that he once lost.

Yet after being clothed in expensive clothes, wearing triple layers of shirt, jumper, and coat, Cal missed his life. He missed his wife. Jacob then, as a player, suddenly met a girl who transformed his life. He loved her, and that was all he needed to know. Yet life was not that easy, and a little twist here and there was shown.

The take home lesson of this movie is that, “You never stop fighting for your soulmate.” Of course, relationship is not a bed of roses, and it all takes a lot of sacrifice and compromisation. Yet it’s not the ticket for giving up. You persevere, and you fight.

Cal made a mistake once, he let her go. He should’ve fought for her, yet he let her go.

“I met my soul mate when I was fifteen years old. We went out for ice cream. After, my dad started teasing me about my first date, the way dads do, and I told him, ‘Dad, it’s no big deal, I’m gonna be going out with a lot of different girls, on a lot of different dates.’ And that is the first time I ever lied to my father.

I met my soul mate when I was fifteen years old and I have loved her every minute, of every day since I first bought her that mint chocolate chip cone. I have loved her through the birth of our children… I have loved her even when I hated her – only married couples will understand that one. And I don’t know if it’s gonna work out… But I can promise you this, I will never stop trying. Because when you find the one, you never give up. “

Cal – Crazy, Stupid, Love (2011)

Ain’t all love makes us crazy and looks stupid? Yet the beauty lies within.

Ps. Oh, there’s Josh Groban in this movie. See if you can spot him! (It took me three whole minutes to think who was Josh Groban in the movie after the credit ended).

Leave a Reply

