Life updated: a bittersweet life

Earlier this week, I received a heartbreaking news from my sister. A new medical graduate from University of Indonesia, who has just finished his degree and underwent his graduation on Saturday morning, was found dead on Saturday night. He was 23 years old.

The news (read: Young doctor found dead at C. Jakarta apartment tower, or if you are an Indonesian and wants to read a more dramatic version, read: Kisah Dramatis Dokter Muda yang Genius) said that he fell from the 24th floor, and whether it was a pure accident, a murder, or a suicide (which is highly unlikely) was still a big question mark.

I cannot imagine what his family felt. Freshly graduated, a new doctor with a brilliant future, was found dead right after the graduation ceremony. How ironic is that?

Yet in the same time it reminded me of how fragile our lives are – when it’s time, then it’s time. Generally we want to live until we are 70-80 years old, but what if that’s not the case? What if we are called home beforehand? Will we be prepared?

That said, looking from a journalist perspective, I know one thing for sure: people are dying to find out what has happened and exploiting the story. In other news reporting this story, it’s told that the young doctor had very few friends and may have developed antisocial behaviour – but how true is that? Although not clearly said in the news, I’m pretty sure people are thinking that the young doctor did suicide because of the pressure. We may never know, and we do not need to know – it’s not our business anyway, but the way the media works is just… like that. Exploiting stories. Making things more dramatic. Engaging more readers. Drawing their emotions.

And why does media do that? Because we like the stories. People feed from these kinds of stories, just like they want to know what’s happening in the celebrities’ lives, without necessarily knowing them anyway. People want to know the lives of their friends, who’s in a relationship with who, and sometimes, comparing their lives with our own. That’s why there is Facebook.

I have said this countless times, and I am about to repeat myself again: in a sense, I’ll not be able to be a true media student. I’m not be able to be a journalist. My writings will always be on the entertainment sector (events, profiles, reviews, travel) or reflective pieces (opinions, personal naratives).

And here is another news about death:

Notice the difference? While one is making the story more dramatic, this one, somehow, making the story looks humorous (or is it just my opinion?) I wonder how their family felt when they read this kind of news. Someone has just lost a brother, a son, a father, and yet the media exploited their sadness and turning it into a story. But what can I say? Even I read these stories, trying to dig in other people’s business. Like I said in my previous post on the mind, I guess in the end it all goes back on which perspective are you taking while dealing with life.

Well, enough about news and media and blah, time for some sweets. I’ve been watching some very good movies (reviews coming up soon, stay tuned), and I haven’t done any single thing related to my studies, except from downloading all lectopias and lecture notes and re-arrange them into folders. I’ve read One Day, well, half of it, and intending to finish the book before the holiday ends. This holiday, my life is totally spent on sofa, bed, kitchen, and sofa. Not a very good lifestyle, but I quite enjoy it.

I went to Tulip Farm last Saturday. Because the photographer hasn’t given me the photos, I can’t make a review, but will do as soon as I’ve got my equipments ready. I have free tickets of the movie The Eye of The Storm starring Geoffrey Rush, so I might drag my lazy self out of the sofa to the cinema later this week.

Been eyeing a Psychology book titled What Do I Say? by Linda N. Edelstein and Charles A. Woehler, but it was quite expensive in retail ($40) so I am thinking of buying online, even though I never (okay, maybe only once) buy online.

In the past week, two stories have been published (yeay). Read Students fund children’s charity through Project O: Reboot and The definition of success. The latter is a personal narrative of mine.

3 thoughts on “Life updated: a bittersweet life

  1. I agree with you, the second story did include too much humor to be in good taste with announcing a tragic (and sad) death. I do think that story has an important message, but maybe not the one the reporter was hinting at. Instead, I take from this the importance of keeping meaningful relationships alive in my life, having people who care about me and caring about them in return.

  2. Hi Stephanie,

    yeah, I think there’s too much homour in the second article as well, it made me think of how the family would feel if one of their family member had just died, but yet… anyway, thanks for reading! ;).

Leave a Reply

