Tuesday’s Tale: making a difference

IT STRIKES me one day that actually when I am thinking on what movie to watch on the weekends, or what dishes to cook for dinner, people my age out there have made a difference. While I am sitting down on my sofa planning another routine in my ordinary life, other people my age out there are already on their way, leaving their marks in the world.

And while I’m listening to music, some people my age out there, they make music. And it’s not just another music, it’s a music with values. While I’m watching movies, people my age out there, they have created movies, so good that I need to ask twice if they are still in their 20s. While I’m trying to write like a decent 19 year old should be writing, people my age out there have written a book, or published their writings to major newspapers.

I always talk of making a difference, yet I hardly make any. I always say that I want to leave my mark in the world. I never did. I’m drinking yet another coffee and making excuses, telling myself that, “It’s okay to enjoy your life, right here, right now. Making a difference can wait.”

Well, sometimes life needs more than just mere enjoyment.

And hey, you know what?

One person is all it takes to make a difference.

If he can make a difference, you can.

“It’s a lie to think you’re not good enough. It’s a lie to think you’re not worth anything.”
Nick Vujicic

Leave a Reply

