better to get wisdom, than gold

TODAY is Wise Up Day. (Okay, I made that up). But I guess wisdom is the one word that young adults do not understand and adults tend to forget. Only those who live long enough to tell us their experiences have what the world call, wisdom.

Yet, as a girl who has another year to approach 20, I feel like people around my age have underestimated the gravity of having wisdom. Wisdom is the one word that helps us determine what are the right things to do and the wrong ones, to do them at the right place, and at the right time.

Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you; love her, and she will watch over you. Wisdom is supreme; therefore get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding.
Proverbs 4:6-7 (NIV)

Humans are the most intelligent being in the world that are able to learn from the mistakes of others. However, how many times do we choose to walk in the same footprints of others, while we know that we will face a cliff at the end? How many times, not only once, nor twice, but several times that we choose to repeat our own mistakes, knowing that the answers do not lie there? Many people say that in order to live, we, ourselves need to make several mistakes and learn from them ourselves. It’s true, but I hope this is not just another excuse for us not to change our negative attitudes.

The wise learn from the experience of others,
and the creative know how to make a crumb of experience go a long way.
Eric Hoffer

We have the knowledge. We know more things than ever before. Yet sometimes it’s also true that we know way much more than the ones we are able to implement in our lives. We know that we should care for our parents now because one day, it might be too late for us to show our gratitude. We know that we should make friends instead of enemies, and should start taking things seriously for our own future. Yet sometimes, we are doing the exact opposite of it.

The wise man is he who knows the relative value of things.
William Ralph Inge

Life is an experience. All things that have happened, are happening, and will be happening in our lives would build our own life’s experiences. But the experiences are not important. What we do next is the one matters. Whether we choose to learn from it, and improve our quality of life, or we choose to discard it, let it go, let it flow, I’ll live my life exactly as the way I want it.

Wisdom is the daughter of experience.
Leonardo da Vinci

Today, let us learn from the words of wisdom by Will Smith: a well-known Hollywood actor who knows his answer towards the most important question of all: Why am I here?

As the Bible says:

How much better to get wisdom than gold, to choose understanding rather than silver!
Proverbs 16:16 (NIV)

Here are some of my favourite quotes from the video:

“I have a great time with my life, and I wanna share it.
I love living, and I think it’s infectious. It’s something that you can’t fake.

Greatness truly exists in all of us. It’s very simple. This is what I believe.
And I’m willing to die for it. Period. It’s that simple.

I know who I am and what I believe and that’s all I need to know.
So, from there, you do what you need to do.

We didn’t grow up with the sense that where we were is where we will gonna be.
We grew up almost didn’t matter because we will becoming something greater.

The separation of talent and skill is one of the most misunderstood concepts.
Talent you have naturally. Skill is only developed by hours and hours and hours of beating on your craft. I’ve never really viewed myself as particularly talented, where I excel is ridiculous, sickening work ethic. While the other guy is sleeping, I’m working. While the other guy is eating, I’m working.

There’s no easy way around it, no matter how talented you are, your talent is going to fail you if you don’t skill. If you don’t study, if you don’t work really hard and dedicate yourself to being better every single day, you will be never be able to communicate with people, with the artistry,
the way that you want.”

The only thing that I see that is distinctly different about me is that I’m not afraid to die on a treadmill. You might have more talent than me, you might be smarter than me, but if we get on a treadmill together, there are two things: You’re getting off first or I’m gonna die. It’s really that simple.

You don’t try to build a wall. You don’t set out and say ‘I’m gonna build the biggest, baddest, greatest wall that has ever been built’. You don’t start there. You say ‘I’m going to lay this brick as perfectly as a brick can be laid’. You do that every single day, and soon you have a wall.

I want to do good. I want the world to be better, because I was here. I want my life, I want my work, my family, to mean something. If you are not making someone else’s life better, then you are wasting your time. Your life will become better by making other lives better.

I wanna represent the idea that you can really make what you want.
I believe that I can create whatever I wanna create.

The first step before anyone else in the world believes it is that you have to believe it.
There is no reason to have a plan B because it distracts the plan A.

Confucious said, ‘He who said he can and he who said he can’t are both usually right’.

You can’t be scared to die for the truth. The truth is the only thing that’s constant in the world.

Don’t ever let somebody tell you, you can’t do something. Not even me. Alright? You gotta dream, you gotta protect it. People can’t do something themselves, they wanna tell you, ‘You can’t do it’.
You want something? Go get it. Period.”

2 thoughts on “better to get wisdom, than gold

Leave a Reply

