One Day (2011)

rating: 4/5

In one word? I LOVE IT.

Okay, maybe it’s one sentence, but seriously, no sarcasm there, I TOTALLY LOVE IT!

“She made you decent, and in return you made her so happy, so happy, and I will always be grateful to you for that.”

Twenty years. Two people.

With the super charming Jim Sturgess (like, he even defeats James McAvoy) and super stunning Anne Hathaway, their excellent acting, and super hot British accent, I am giving thumbs up for this movie. Delicately packed with an interesting concept, One Day, for me, is my next favourite classical romance movie after Pride and Prejudiced.

It is a classic movie, the setting varies from late 1980s to early 2000s, shot in London, Paris, and other romance cities, with THE British accent that really did make me melt. Oh Eiffel, I’m in love.

It’s definitely a love story, and it’s a very touching one indeed, although somewhere in the middle I’m half-wishing that I can rewrite the story and make my own fairy tale ending to them… Although my friend classified the movie as “very slow story, boring, and ok only” one, I still justify myself based on two reasons. First, is because that friend is a guy, and second, because for chick flicks he likes Pretty Woman/Notting Hill/Serendipity and I like The Notebook/Titanic/Pride and Prejudiced.

As a note though, if you don’t like drama, don’t like sad ending movies, and don’t like classic movies, I suggest you find your way to line up for another movie, because apparently it’s either you love it or hate it.

For me, I’m on my way to the bookshop the first thing tomorrow and buy that #1 best seller novel!

One thought on “One Day (2011)

  1. half note says:

    looks like a good date movie ^^
    well I’m sort of like your guy friend . not into Notebook or dear john, and I love Serendipity.
    but one day each year for 20 years sounds like an interesting, heartbreaking story ;)

Leave a Reply

