just a stranger

"I Don't Belong Here" by Sadie Collins

written by Marcella Purnama
August 26, 2011

I WAS a stranger on a foreign land
speaking a language that was not mine
I walked passed the streets, the alleys, the stores
I went out there, exposed myself, and tried to blend in
Yet when the time came
I would still be a stranger
trying to spread my wings
on this uncharted territory

We had different cultures, they and I
with different values
different habits
while we were breathing the same air
enjoying the same sun
walking on the same land
still, I was just a stranger
trying to venture life
on this foreign land

Yet back where I came from
I was still a stranger
I spoke their language, ate their food, embraced their culture
But I would always be different from them
They thought
I was just another foreigner
visiting their land on a summer break
building a beach house
tiptoeing my feet on the white sand
who would never be one of them

Drifting
here and there
yet
I was just a stranger
trying to leave behind a mark
in this earth
before I went back home
to the place where I belong


One thought on “just a stranger

  1. Johng700 says:

    Good post. I study something more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It is going to all the time be stimulating to learn content material from different writers and practice somewhat one thing from their store. I cdkkedckdagb

Leave a Reply

