Why are you here?

THE metaphysical question, although simple, is one that most people on earth do not know how to answer.

Beginning my another mundane Monday with switching class (instead of going to the lecture at 10, I decided to go at 4), I open my laptop and start saying hello to the virtual world: what’s happening on Twitter, Facebook, checking e-mails: Yahoo, Gmail, Unimail, and YouTube news.

Accidentally watching a video on YouTube, I find myself asking, why am I here, on this earth?

Some Christians, in the video, know their purposes on earth. Some others comment that even Plato and Aristotle in all their wisdom can’t give a satisfying answer towards this question. Others say that they’re here to “have a good life.”

So why am I here?

Science says that it doesn’t matter if I’m here or not. I’m insignificant, just another human among 110 billion others who have been born.

Business says that I’m here to become a good consumer and spend more on earthly stuffs.

Environmentalism says that I’m here to breathe in oxygen and breathe out carbon dioxide and to make global warming worse, with little good contribution towards the nature around me.

The virtual reality world says that I’m here to increase more traffic – to use Facebook, four different e-mail portals, WordPress, LinkedIn, Twitter, YouTube, and a bunch of other websites.

Law says that I’m here to be a good citizen with other 80% others who have never broken any rules, so that they have less things to take care about.

These answers, although factual, don’t really get to the answer of why are we here.

Imagine that you have an iPhone. You can use this Apple product in various ways, and download 1001 apps according to your will. However, iPhone is still a creation, and our knowledge is limited as we are only users. To understand its full potential, we need ask the iPhone’s creator what it’s been created for.

The same thing happens with humans. We can fill out our lives with anything – to use our time practically doing anything that we want. But to maximise the limited time that we have, to answer that very core of why we are created, we need to ask the creator.

The more I try to answer the question and share it to you, the more I feel that it’s not what I’m supposed to do. It will become just another cliche, another statement, another saying that doesn’t make sense to anyone else but me. In a sense, the question of why are you here, is important to answer, yet it is personalised to each person.

You may believe that there is a God who created humans. Or you may also believe that there are no creators that have created humans. Whatever the case is, living life only once, why should we live another mundane life – to grow, to go to school, to work, to get married, to have children to grow older, and then to die?

Live your life with purpose. Live your life with knowing the answer to the question, “Why are you here?”

Then, it would not be just another life.

because life is short - and enjoyable.

3 thoughts on “Why are you here?

Leave a Reply

