the last two weeks – category three

As an international student living in Melbourne, I never have the chance to be a real tourist. And how I wish I have. So there you go, category number three: TOURIST TIME!

“SATURDAY.

I was so excited when I asked, “What do you want to do this weekend?” and got a reply, “How about we go to the Melbourne zoo – I know you have always wanted to go there, and watch Kung Fu Panda 2 afterwards?” And I had one of the best weekends indeed.

Arriving at the Melbourne zoo at 10.30 am, we decided to skip breakfast and just go to brunch later during the day. We saw elephants, giraffes, zebras, lions, tigers, African wild dogs, wombats, snakes, frogs, butterflies, and all other animals! Excited, I felt like a little girl once again, trying to ask my Daddy, “what’s the name of that animal?”

Melbourne zoo visitor's guide!

map of Melbourne zoo

And the weather was just perfect. It was sunny most of the day, and not too cold (thank God for that, Melbourne’s been very, very cold for like a month or so!)

So first of all we went to see the otters, tiger, and butterflies (and the butterflies are really beautiful!). Oh: Ps. all photos taken by TJ, these are raw photos without editing, and I know that the photographer wants to edit the photos first before publishing, but I can’t help but posting some of them! lol.

beautiful birdie. ;p

caterpillar wants to see the world

spread your wings and fly!

After giving a visit to these small creatures, we took a walk to the elephants, giraffes, and zebras. The funniest thing is, the ‘elephant’s trail’ feels like Indonesia. Want a proof?

Indonesian language in Melbourne Zoo. LOL

giraffe and zebra - feels like madagascar!

:)

and I believe this is.... Baboon. LOL.

We had lunch by then, it was quite OK despite for it being a tourist place (usually overpriced food with less quality), but I gotta say, the food quite ok, was on a reasonable price, and wayyyy BETTER than Luna Park’s. After lunch we went to see the rest of the animals: bears, big cats, lions, lemurs, penguins, seals, reptiles, and frogs. For the record, I hate frogs…

snakeeee

 Finishing all the ‘attractions’ in Melbourne zoo, we made our way to the cinema and watched Kung Fu Panda 2. It was a very entertaining movie indeed, and yes, I’m loving the baby ‘Po’ panda! :) Then we had dinner at Laksa King. Going home, brewing some tea and sitting on the sofa while watching TV – I believe I had one of the best weekends ever.

SUNDAY.

After going to Sunday Service, my sister, a couple of friends, and I went to the “Art of Brick” – Lego Exhibition. Well, it was quite a disappointing trip, but however it was quite good nonetheless. BUT, it was SOOOO SMAAAAAAAALLLLLL and so little ‘art’ came to display. Here are some:

Federation Square on a sunny winter day

the art of brick exhibition

yarra tram - made of lego!

lego train

t-Rex- lego version

the thinker

eating the apple ;p

the globe

Flinders station!

After going to the exhibition, some of us went to Movida and had a nice meal. After that, we went back home, brewed some tea and watched “the Black Swan” (btw, a very dark movie indeed).

Loving my weekend! :)))

5 thoughts on “the last two weeks – category three

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add
    to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some
    time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I
    look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

