he’s just not that into you (2009)

mp’s rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

I LOVE this movie ;). I have watched it for the second time last week and I was enlightened, well, the phrase is so true anyway ;p. Directed by Ken Kwapis, with gorgeous actors and actresses (Ben Affleck, Justin Long, Scarlet Johansson, Jennifer Anniston, Drew Barrymore, and many more!), I believe this movie represents the ‘everyday life’ in a more extreme way, when all relationships are exposed. Well, what is it then for the viewers? To steal the phrase

from another movie: it’s “the ugly truth“.

Watching the trailer for the second time refreshes the memory – once again. Well, I do not deny that this movie is mainly targeting the girls, teenagers maybe, ehm, for those girls who really like to be in a relationship, get our Romeos, and live

happily ever after, with lots and lots of dramas. But that’s not the reality. That’s the fairy tale ;). I’m not saying that I’m one of those girls, but I think it’s best to say that I’m not not one of those girls either. lol. Anyways, the movie quotes are really good, and yeah, this movie is humorous and light, I’m extremely delighted ;p

Alright here are some of my favourite quotes:

“We are all programmed to believe that if a guy acts like a total jerk that means he likes you.” Gigi

“I had this guy leave me a voicemail at work, so I called him at home, and then he emailed me to my BlackBerry, and so I texted to his cell, and now you just have to go around checking all these different portals just to get rejected by seven different technologies.
It’s exhausting.” Mary

“Girls are taught a lot of stuff growing up. If a guy punches you he likes you. Never try to trim your own bangs and someday you will meet a wonderful guy and get your very own happy ending. Every movie we see, Every story we’re told implores us to wait for it, the third act twist, the unexpected declaration of love, the exception to the rule. But sometimes we’re so focused on finding our happy ending we don’t learn how to read the signs. How to tell from the ones who want us and the ones who don’t, the ones who will stay and the ones who will leave. And maybe a happy ending doesn’t include a guy, maybe… it’s you, on your own, picking up the pieces and starting over, freeing yourself up for something better in the future. Maybe the happy ending is… just… moving on. Or maybe the happy ending is this, knowing after all the unreturned phone calls, broken-hearts, through the blunders and misread signals, through all the pain and embarrassment you never gave up hope.” Gigi

“If a guy doesn’t call you, he doesn’t want to call you.” Alex

Gigi: [Answering machine answers, Gigi’s voice:] Or call my cell, or try me at work but definitely leave a message here first. Thanks!
Alex: Hey, Gigi. It’s Alex, um, how’s it going?
[He starts to pace]
Alex: Uh, just wondering how you’re doing. I haven’t talked to you in a little while and, uh, just wondering how you’re doing.
[He sits on the couch]
Alex: So… I was hoping to talk to you… obviously. But you’re out, I guess. So, just call me some time. Or tonight, uh, in around… uh, I’ll be in around… that’s, that’s… not… now. It’s Alex. Okay.
[He hangs up the phone]
Tyrone: Dude.
Alex: [He looks down] I know.

Alright I might just have told you the whole story of the movie but yeah, I LOVE it! (maybe it’s due to the mentally and physically exhausted me the day that I watched it, plus it’s been ages since I last watch a movie). And I remind you, THIS IS NOT HEALTHY. Too much dramas… but oh well, girls like dramas (at least I do) ;)

2 thoughts on “he’s just not that into you (2009)

  1. JGL says:

    I like the part where the bartender/manager (justin long) said about something like this…(free quotation of course)…

    Just because a guy is nice to you doesn’t always mean that he is ‘into’ u.
    Why do women always perceive a guy’s intentions as ‘him chasing u’
    Sometimes someone is nice just because they are nice.

    another moral of the story…don’t have an affair…in the office….

Leave a Reply

