Walking Her Home

It’s time to be a little bit melancholy and romantic… Maybe sometimes we need these stuffs ;p (not so often, but it’s nice to feel this way once in a while ;p)

Have you ever heard the song “Walking Her Home” by Mark Schultz? I just knew that song existed literally around 30 mins ago. My sister came home rushing from a dinner and she typed that song in the youtube and I fall in love with that song at the first sight ;).

I think as a girl, I really want someone who is ‘perfect’ (well, who doesn’t?) As a ‘normal’ girl, I have a bunch of criteria of the perfect guy to date with. For example: he must be a very good Christian, loyal, good-looking, and yada yada yada. But I guess, apart from the fact that he must be a Christian and loves God 100%, I think I really do want someone who’s ‘walking me home’, an ordinary experience, can be extraordinary; it depends on who’s walking you home. A guy who loves me for who I am until the day death sets us apart (I think I watch too many movies ;p).

He doesn’t need to very romantic and gives you flowers every morning (though it would be nice), but I do want someone who will stay with me 60 years later and still look into my eyes and say, “Marrying you was one of the best decision I’ve ever made.” I want someone who 60 years later, will still hold my hand dearly while walking together across the park. I want someone who will still be standing by my side no matter what, loving me and kissing me goodnight until we are 85 years old. ;)

Looking at the lyrics, I guess this is the perfect love story. It’s not Titanic, it’s not dramatic. It’s ordinary but yet it’s so true. My personal opinion will be this is the kind of song which guys do not like at all and say it’s a ‘fairy tale’, but it’s the kind of song that every girl longs for. I literally cry when I hear this song. I’m thinking of the one whose I’m going to meet someday. I want to be loved like this, but moreover, I want to love someone like this.

Ps. You know, I’m waiting for you.

He’s walking her home
Mark Schultz

Looking back
He sees it all
It was her first date the night he came to call

Her dad said son
Have her home on time
And promise me you’ll never leave her side
He took her to a show in town
And he was ten feet off the ground

(Chorus)
He was walking her home
And holding her hand
Oh the way she smiled it stole the breath right out of him
Down that old road
With the stars up above
He remembers where he was the night he fell in love
He was walking her home

Ten more years and a waiting room
At half past one
And the doctor said come in and meet your son

His knees went weak
When he saw his wife
She was smiling as she said he’s got your eyes
And as she slept he held her tight
His mind went back to that first night

(Chorus)

He walked her through the best days of her life
Sixty years together and he never left her side

A nursing home
At eighty-five
And the doctor said it could be her last night
And the nurse said Oh
Should we tell him now
Or should he wait until the morning to find out

When they checked her room that night
He was laying by her side

Oh he was walking her home
And holding her hand
Oh the way she smiled when he said this is not the end
And just for a while they were eighteen
And she was still more beautiful to him than anything
He was walking her home
He was walking her home

Looking back
He sees it all
It was her first date the night he came to call

2 thoughts on “Walking Her Home

Leave a Reply

