Back to The Future

My ‘noble’ plan today was to take a break for a while, do laundry, cook, and study in the evening. Nope, that’s not going to happen. I went to Westfield instead and had a good chat with my friends. Somehow, it turns your mindset around. Your future.

Somehow I always know that the future is coming soon. Well, yes, maybe I’m still a first year university student now. But hey, isn’t just last year that I was a high school student? Seems like yesterday though. Time flies. fast. Maybe now is not the right time anymore to just playing around and enjoying your life. “There is much more to life that just this,” that’s what I keep telling myself. Just 3 years ago I loved playing Play Station 1 and finished Final Fantasy 7, 8, 9, Legend of Mana, Legend of Dragoon, and all sorts of other RPG games. Now, to be honest I’m literally not interested in playing those games anymore. Well, yes, I will do like to play those games again sometimes. But it’s just not ‘my life’ anymore. I won’t be sitting in my room up until 3 a.m. just to fight against the Boss. Well, I’ve changed.

Soon university life will be over. What do I want to achieve? I don’t want to be just ordinary university students who go into class, go to the tutorials, studying for exams, get good marks, and graduate. There’s no point of studying if it just comes down to that. I want to do something else. I want to do more.

University. Some people just can’t enter one. But while I’m here, having that golden opportunity, I just have no idea what to do with it. Is my aim to get good grades? Not really. For me, I guess, experience is more important. but I don’t want to just get average grades as well. So I’m really confused right now on what to prioritise. Getting good grades, getting experiences by doing part-time jobs, or what? And I really do need to think about my future. What do I want to become?

I think we really need to set our goals. and we really need to specify it. So far, the goals that I’m setting are not achieved yet. I don’t talk to one stranger per day (errrr, maybe it’s just one stranger per week, not good ;p), and I haven’t started cooking since 2 weeks or so. Uh no. Maybe I need to do things like the movie “Julie and Julia”. Buy a cookbook, try to do all the recipes, and get your calender marked!

Experience. Hard work. Yes, we need to enjoy our lives and such but, to what extent? If I can do something that is more useful, then why not?

I think my biggest obstacle now is that I procrastinate. I always delay things, like, “oh, I’ll do that next week,” or “I’ll start applying jobs next month,” and such. Hey, do you think that you can get a job that easy? Well, I won’t say so. Setting goals… Hmm… I think now I need to grab my journal and a pen and start to re-think about my dreams and goals. I want to be a reporter, a traveling journalist, a writer, a Disneyland CEO (ahahah!), a cafe owner, and many more. And now I think I need to apply part-time jobs that are related to those fields as well. But I don’t know what. I hope that someone will turn that light bulb on and give me the answer. I want to take a ride to the future. But, the sense of achievement won’t be as satisfying. I want to be the one who really gets into the job, struggles to do it, tries to do better, experiences all of it, and becomes a real person. Taste life! I have a looooongggg loooooooooonnnngggg way to go.

Maybe in the mean time I’ll try to plan my exam study time first. Then my winter holiday. And when 2nd semester starts, I would really like to say that, “the game is so ON.”

Leave a Reply

