DRIVEN by ETERNITY, Part 4: ETERNITY

All these times we have talked about salvation and such to determine our lives for eternity but yet we haven’t defined what is eternity.

What is eternity?

One dictionary defines it as “an infinite amount of time”, while other defines it as “the state of existing outside time”. These statements contradict each other, but yet there’s no one that argues about that! Why is that so? The answer is: because our mind CAN NOT cope with eternity. Bible just says that, “God has planted eternity in our hearts,”: “He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end.” (Ecclesiastes 3:11). Thus, even though eternity can not be understood with our minds, we can know its existence through our hearts.

Let’s put it this way. Normally a person will have a lifespan of 80 years. These 80 years that he has spent on earth will determine his eternity. Thus mathematically, it will be:

80 years : eternity (infinity) =  0

Thus, imagine that our 10 years will determine our lives for 1,000,000 years

10 years: 1,000,000 years = it is not 0!!

Think about it further, our 1 year will determine our lives for 100 billion years.

1 year: 100 billion years = still not 0!!

Further and further, not even our 1 day towards 1000000 million zillion years still equal to 0!! So have you realized the truth? Every second that passed, every time that has gone, all our days – it will count to our eternity. Are you scared now? I know I am. How come my one-minute of anger towards my friend will cost me my heavenly eternity? How come my 60 seconds of sulking will make me lost my heavenly eternity? And how can I spend eternity in hell? That is too unbearable!! Have you wasted your day like it was nothing, doing nothing useful and doesn’t being an impact towards others? I often do that, and now I tremble in fear! What on earth have I credited towards my eternity! Now I am more freaked out. I haven’t done anything for the Lord!

Okay, let’s see it in a different way. Take Charity from the previous part for example. She is going to spend eternity with the Lord, in the kingdom of God. She will rule with Him, and spend the rest of eternity in the most beautiful place that ever be. She will be forever joyful, have peace, happy, etc… the same goes for Selfish. Although he is not in the nicest spot in heaven (he may be only the gardener or the people who clean the streets, but who cares? Being in heaven is already wonderful enough! Too wonderful!), he will still spend his eternity with the Lord. And now think the opposite way.

Independent and Deceived. Where are they going to be? They are going to be in hell or the Lake of Fire or Hades, whatever you want them to be named (I will discuss the reality of heaven and hell in the next chapter). Can you imagine? Spending eternity in hell? In the place where there will be misery, and such… you want to go there? Hell, I don’t. It’s eternity. It’s one way in, and no way out. If people live a bad life, they can end it through dying. In hell, you are already dead. How can you escape the torments?

You can’t.

So what is eternity? And how do you want to spend your eternity? Again, you choose.

